I’m working my way through The Steal Like an Artist Journal: A Notebook for Creative Kleptomaniacs by Austin Kleon. Each day there’s a challenge in it which usually amounts to drawing something, making a list, remixing a book, and the like. I’d been really enjoying it when I came across a 30 Day Challenge.  One of my goals for 2016 is being more positive and thankful to those around me so this is what I made my challenge:

Steal Journal
Steal Journal 30 Day Challenge: 30 Days of Awesome People

I’ve got an image of this on Day 1 in Facebook. Each day I write something nice in it about somebody I know and care about, tag them on their day, then make an entry in the book to track it. The daily entry gets its own smattering of likes and comments. Each time it makes somebody feel special plus it helps others feel good to be connected to their friends or learn something about a person they’re connected to through me. Another secret is that I don’t have to wait until the end of the 30 days to get my warm fuzzy. That happens thirty times. Way better than ice cream.

How I'm making the 30 Days of Awesome personal.
How I’m making the 30 Days of Awesome personal.
Then I hit this page in the book and I was honestly stumped. I don’t follow celebrities. Athletes do things on the field which I could never dream of, but as people they’re rarely any better or worse than those I know with more mundane jobs. Politicians? Please. The people who I’ve been the most impressed over when I look at this page tend to fall into two groups:
  1. Ordinary people who’ve followed a path they believe in and become more than they realize. Amy Cuddy’s Fake it Til You Make It TED Talk is an awesome example. Brené Brown’s work on Vulnerability and Shame freaked her out when the powerful ideas got tens of millions of views – and it made her feel vulnerable and a bit ashamed at the attention. Austin Kleon falls into this bucket too. I’m sure he’s not making a fortune off a couple quirky books. They feed his passion, put food on the table, and build community. Seth Godin’s someone who’s been doing this for quite a while and is the one who inspired me to start writing a blog.
  2. Super groups like Van Halen and Pearl Jam aren’t the norm anymore. When I open up Spotify, I don’t migrate to big acts. I spend more time listening to Chet Faker, Grimes, CHVRCHES, or Disclosure. All of these are essentially 1, 2, or 3 person acts who started small and creative. They often collaborate with other artists to remix and reimagine their work. This second bucket is really a twist on the first one.
StealJournal Heroes
How far do you need to look for heroes?
I can’t paste images of those people into this page, however. Pictures of these people who I admire for their perseverance and creativity aren’t going to help me when I feel lost or lonely. I’m already working on the page which will help with that and they exhibit perseverance andcreativity of their own. My heroes are more everyday heroes than larger-than-life ones.
3 thoughts on “No More Heroes

  1. Ah. Now I understand the page you sent. Good idea. I know some people I’d put on my list. & I heard about that book years ago but never got around to reading it.

    Sent from my iPhone

    >

Leave a Reply

