What one Racer got out of Ironman


I enjoyed this athletic post by Joe Terry on what he got out of racing in Ironman. If you’ve liked my bike-related posts then you’ll like this. Joe is President and CEO of Corporate Visions who provide some terrific training courses and meeting facilitation. I’ve got no affiliation with them but have been in several sessions they have run.

The Messaging Feed

By Joe Terry, Corporate Visions President and CEO

Ironman Triathlon:  2.4 mile swim, 112 mile bike, marathon (26.2 mile run) – in that order, with no breaks.

Kona:  The Ironman World Championships, the original, preeminent Ironman (the one you’ve seen on TV since the 1970s).

The Grand Plan

The Ironman Florida, Nov. 2, 2012 – Sixteen weeks of Ironman-specific training, many races, and months of base training before that. The training is complete; I have done the necessary work and am going into the race in the best shape of my life. My goal is to beat my 2011 Florida time of 11:07, second goal is sub 11:00, and then, if things are going my way, I’m hoping for 10:45. My race plan is 1:10 swim, 5:15 bike and 4:00 marathon. I am part of the Ironman Executive Challenge; one Kona spot is up for grabs in…

View original post 2,088 more words

Leave a Reply

