Favorite TED Talks


Several of my blog posts, including the original one, were inspired by TED Talks. The TED tag line is “Ideas Worth Sharing” so I’m sharing some of those here. While many are worth sharing, I don’t feel the need to comment on them. I’m including links to some of those I’ve blogged about and several others that I’ve enjoyed watching.

I’d say that most of the ones I like have elements of introspection mixed with humor. That’s not always the case, but it is a good mix for me and is probably something that comes through in my posts. There are others that I watch just for the entertainment value. For example, Marco Tempest’s combination of augmented reality, magic, and storytelling are truly gems. Others include Nathan Myhrvold and his unique work making high def images of cooking by cutting pots and stoves in half. That’s just plain cool on so many levels. I split them into two groups: personal ones which spurred some blogs and entertainment which are either fun, educational, or both.
Enjoy and share some of your own.

Personal

Sherry Turkle: Connected, but alone? Tali Sharot: The optimism bias
Brené Brown: The power of vulnerability Brené Brown: Listening to shame
Regina Dugan: From mach-20 glider to humming bird drone Rory Sutherland: Perspective is everything

Entertainment / Education

Aaron Koblin: Artfully visualizing our humanity Nathan Myhrvold: Cooking as never seen before
Marco Tempest: The magic of truth and lies (and iPods) Erez Lieberman Aiden and Jean-Baptiste Michel: What we learned from 5 million books
One thought on “Favorite TED Talks

Leave a Reply

